房屋貸款類型

固定利率與浮動利率

「固定利率」 是指您的利率以及本金和利息的還款額在整個房屋貸款年期內維持不變。如果您是首次購屋者,並想知道償還的確切金額,固定利率房屋貸款將是明智的選擇。

對於 「浮動利率房屋貸款」 ,利率將隨著銀行房屋貸款最優惠利率的變化而波動。您本金和利息的還款額將在房屋貸款年期內維持不變,但如果銀行的房屋貸款最優惠利率降低,還款的更多部分將計入償還本金之中。如果銀行房屋貸款最優惠利率上升,還款的更多部分將計入償還利息之中。

如果您擔心利率上升, 則 「固定利率房屋貸款」 將是更適合的選擇,因為在房屋貸款年期內,您的利率不會上調。 如果利率向下降, 則 「浮動利率房屋貸款」將是更適合的選擇。如果您選擇了浮動利率房屋貸款,而利率開始上升,您可以選擇改為固定利率房屋貸款,利率以現行利率為準,具體須遵守某些條件。

開放式房屋貸款和封閉式房屋貸款與提前還款

「開放式房屋貸款」 最適合打算還清或提前償還房屋貸款而無需承擔提前還款費用的貸款人。您可以隨時提前還款,直至完全還清貸款為止。開放式房屋貸款的利率較高,因為它提供更加靈活的提前還款選擇,並可隨時轉為年期超過當前剩餘年期的固定利率房屋貸款而無需承擔提前還款費用。

對於「封閉式房屋貸款 」, 每年最多可提前償還原始本金的15%。如果您想在房屋貸款到期前還清全部貸款,提前償還超過15%的貸款或者在房屋貸款到期前還清房屋貸款餘額,都會產生提前還款費用。封閉式房屋貸款的利率通常低於相同年期的開放式房屋貸款。

Mortgage Types

Fixed vs Variable interest rate

A fixed interest rate means your interest rate will not change throughout the term of your mortgage loan, and neither will the amount of your principal and interest payments. If you’re a first-time home buyer and are happiest knowing exactly what to budget for, a fixed rate mortgage is a wise choice.

With a variable rate mortgage, the interest rate can fluctuate along with any changes in the lender’s Prime Rate. Your principal and interest payments will stay the same for the term, but if the lender’s Prime Rate goes down, more of your payment will go towards the principal. If the lender’s Prime Rate goes up, more will go towards interest.

If you are concerned with interest rates rising, fixed rate mortgages are more popular as you are protected from your rate going up over the term of the mortgage. Variable rate mortgages are more popular when interest rates are falling. If you do choose a variable rate mortgage and rates begin to rise, there is always the option to shift to a fixed rate mortgage at current rates, subject to certain conditions.

Open vs Closed Mortgages to prepayment

An open mortgage is best suited for those who plan to pay off or prepay their mortgage loan without worrying about prepayment charges. It allows you the freedom to put prepayments toward the mortgage loan anytime until it is completely paid off. An open mortgage may have a higher interest rate because of the added prepayment flexibility, and can be converted to any fixed rate term longer than your remaining term, at any time, without a prepayment charge.

A closed mortgage provides the option to prepay your mortgage loan each year up to, for example, 15% of the original principal amount. If you want to pay your mortgage loan off completely before your term ends, prepay more than 15%, or pay off your mortgage loan balance before the end of its term, prepayment charges may apply. A closed mortgage typically has a lower rate than an open mortgage for the same term.